The Dark Knight Rises – Ending Explained by Michael Caine

alfred-endofrises

The ending to one of the greatest films of the year has been a bit up for debate, were they really there, or, was it the imagination of an old grieving butler? We could say that it’s up for each audience member to read it their own way and be fine with that, but there is a definite answer.

Whichever you believe, we shall address momentarily, first though is the issue of the ending overall.

The first point, Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s character being revealed as Robin. Now, I am of the thought that Robin should be featured in the Batman movies – as long as Burton is allowed no where near it. Batman lasted a year without his Boy Wonder and has now managed 70 years with him by his side. Robin is so important to the Batman franchise that I included him in my top 3 ways to improve the films – which you can read here. So what is the problem with Levitt’s Robin? The reveal is absolutely awful, complimenting somebody’s full name and then weirdly repeat just their first name, lame. Also is the Christian Bale comment “If Robin crops up in one of the new Batman films, I’ll be chaining myself up somewhere and refusing to go to work” – Enough said I think.

The other point, how annoyingly Disney is the ending? I’m not a fan of the happily ever after, so much for this ultimate sacrifice everybody kept talking about. He should of died, or maybe even left open ended. Instead, we get a sugar-coated and neatly wrapped up finish to an outstanding film. I half expected it to break out in to song.

I imagine all of you reading this adore the ending, read Michael Caine’s thoughts below.

“[Bruce and Selina] They were there.They were real. There was no imagination. They were real and he was with Anne, the cat lady, and I was happy ever after for [Bruce] as I told him during the picture.”

And for those of you who enjoyed his role as Alfred, he offers this:

“I said to Chris [Nolan], ‘If they do it again and they ask me to be the Butler, I’m going to do it!’ He said, ‘I want 10%.”

bruce-selina-happyending

 

Comments
2 Responses to “The Dark Knight Rises – Ending Explained by Michael Caine”
  1. joereyes3 says:

    great post, check out mine on this subject and see what you think http://wellthatsdifferent.wordpress.com/2012/12/10/the-worst-evil-plan/

Leave a Reply

